About Us

Our Mission


Our mission is to help children from low-income families acquire the necessary skills in academics and social interaction to move successfully through grades K-12 and into adulthood. We do this by providing after-school and summer programs which emphasize literacy and community involvement, using the talents of teachers, volunteer tutors, adult caregivers and a variety of local support services.

Our History


The Glen Ellyn Community Resource Center opened in April 2002 with the support of the county-run DuPage Prevention Partnership and initially served the children residing at the Parkside Apartment Complex. In the fall of 2003, we moved to the classroom space offered by Faith Lutheran Church of Glen Ellyn and became a 501c(3) nonprofit corporation in order to better serve the greater Glen Ellyn community. We then changed our name to the Glen Ellyn Children’s Resource Center and are among the area’s most active nonprofits, empowering a growing number of low-income and refugee Asian, African and Hispanic children to achieve their fullest potential.


GECRC empowers children to realize their full academic and personal potential through our intensive five-day-a-week, after-school tutoring and mentoring program. Participation is open to all students who attend Districts 41 or 89 schools and meet low-income and academic risk guidelines. Students are referred by teachers, social workers, school administrators or social service agencies. Annually our program serves over 130 immigrant, refugee and American born students from 14 different countries and people groups.

Our Board and Staff


GECRC is proud of our leadership and organization. In addition to our paid staff that facilitates our after-school programs, we have a well-defined executive board that meets monthly to advise and support our organization.

Staff

Joyce Hothan Executive Director

For questions about programming. contact:
jhothan@gecrc.com | 630-479-9920

Monica Lightner, Director of Program and Volunteers

For questions about the elementary and junior high after school program or to volunteer, contact:
volunteer@gecrc.com | 630-479-9919

Brannon Burke, Program Coordinator for Lincoln Elementary

bburke@gecrc.com

Aqsa Sukhera, K-2 Classroom Coordinator, Lincoln Elementary

asukhera@gecrc.com

Robert Watson, 3-5 Classroom Coordinator, Lincoln Elementary

rwatson@gecrc.com

Nikki O'Connor, Aide, Lincoln Elementary

noconnor@gecrc.com

Lucy Comerford, Program Coordinator for Junior High

lcomerford@gecrc.com

Deandra Bass, K-2 Classroom Coordinator, Churchill Elementary

dbass@gecrc.com

Erika Heiberger, 3-5 Classroom Coordinator, Churchill Elementary

eheiberger@gecrc.com

Mary Beth Knox, Aide, Churchill Elementary

mknox@gecrc.com

Joan Schaeffer, Administrative Assistant

admin@gecrc.org